During my research, I stumbled upon a recent book by Leslie Lockett entitled Anglo-Saxon Psychologies in the Vernacular and Latin Traditions. Although Lockett is primarily a scholar of Old English, I found Anglo-Saxon Psychologies to be a remarkable piece of interdisciplinary erudition that satisfied my empirical impulses as a historian while enlightening me on subjects as diverse as the philology of Old English words, the dissemination of patristic texts, and the anthropological theory of ’eminent metaphoricity’. It is quite a massive tome to get through, but Lockett has the rare gift of synthesising these divergent strands into a cogent argument that is both readable and thought-provoking. Personally, the most interesting food for thought that I got out of her work was whether Augustine’s influence over the Anglo-Saxon intellectual landscape has been drastically overstated in the historiography of conversion period England.

The book enthralled me so much that I attempted to review it. I am extremely pleased to say that the review has now been published in the latest volume of the graduate journal, Hortulus. You can read the full review here.

Reference:
Lockett, Leslie. Anglo-Saxon Psychologies in the Vernacular and Latin Traditions. Toronto; Buffalo; London: University of Toronto Press, 2011.

